Repeat: Registration Instructions

Since this info is buried in previous posts from months ago, I will repost here once:

To register for this course, send an email to gamedesignconcepts@yahoo.com with the following information:

  • Full name
  • City and time zone
  • Previous experience with game design, if any
  • If you are signing up with friends, say who they are so you can all be added to the same group.

Registration is free.

Then, pick up the required textbook: Challenges for Game Designers. Also consider the recommended texts, Understanding Comics and A Theory of Fun. I cannot supply the textbooks, so you are on your own for this part (you can order them online, at a local bookstore, or anywhere else).

Class starts Monday, June 29. Register before then.

31 Responses to “Repeat: Registration Instructions”

  1. CodeJustin Says:

    I will be contacting you 🙂

  2. Steven Egan Says:

    So, does this mean those who sent an e-mail, but didn’t include all that info should resend?

  3. Luis Sopelana Says:

    Just a heads-up: a local bookstore that deals with English language books (I live in Mexico City) will get me the Challenges For Game Designers book. It’s supposed to arrive this week. I’m really excited about this.

  4. Free online course! « CGInspiration Says:

    […] Concepts, which starts June 29.  Interested?  See more information, including the syllabus, here.  According to a game_edu list-serv post by Susan Gold, 733 people are already registered from 39 […]

  5. Joe Murphy Says:

    What do the groups mean? If I sign up with people I know, will we share projects?

    Because I can see a big advantage in not being part of a group, and getting to cross-pollinate ideas.

  6. amanda Says:

    I saw this posted on my game design group and am interested in learning more about it.

    • ai864 Says:

      @Joe Murphy: Groups are informal, it just means you have some people who you already know who are taking the course. All projects are still individual, it is just useful to have some playtesters for your game prototypes who happen to be also learning the same things you are 🙂

      @amanda: Thanks for dropping by! I’ve tried to include as much information as possible on this blog; if you have any questions that you can’t find the answers to, feel free to email or write here.

  7. Mike Says:

    I registered Tuesday, after seeing this mentioned on Raph Koster’s blog. Will you be confirming registrations? I mainly wanted to make sure I didn’t get caught in a spam filter. 🙂

    • ai864 Says:

      @Mike: I’ve been confirming registrations. I am a few days behind due to Origins, and will catch up this weekend.

      @SnakeNuts: Hopefully the book will get there sooner rather than later. Worst case, follow along as best you can, and catch up when the book arrives. Shouldn’t be that much of an issue.

  8. SnakeNuts Says:

    Hmmm… It seems my copy of ‘Challenges for game designers’ might turn up on the 29th, or 11 days later, whatever the postal service decides is best… Any problems with that for me doing the course? I’ve got the other 2 books…

  9. Robert Polzin Says:

    Looking forward to the class.
    I sent you an email with my information hope you got it! I ordered the books yesterday should have em tomorrow!

  10. Martin Nerurkar Says:

    Alright. You got me. I signed up and looking forward to this. Thanks for offering the course.

  11. Mavis Says:

    I’ve sent an e-mail along – and I’ve ordered the book – but as I’m English I think it won’t be turning up for about 10 days at least……..

    Hopefully that’s ok.

  12. varagon Says:

    It’s my understanding that this is about game design, not necessarily computer or electronic games, but board/card/pen and paper, right?

    If it is not focused on electronic game design, count me in. In fact, I recently submitted my information.

    Thanks!

    • ai864 Says:

      @varagon: This is about game design in all forms, regardless of medium. My intent is to cover those aspects of design that are common to tabletop, electronic, and other forms of games.

  13. dania licea Says:

    I send my email with all my information to register, but a don’t have any confirmation about my register. am I register or not?

  14. Matt Says:

    Sent in my registration email yesterday. Hopefully I managed to make it under the deadline.

  15. xeoncat Says:

    I sent you an email today. I hope I’m not too late ^^;

  16. Robert Polzin Says:

    Are we supposed to get a confirmation of some kind? I sent my info in but haven’t heard anything in several days.

  17. SteveEG Says:

    Same here waiting for a email … I guess 1000+ people to respond to is a lot of work for One Man.

  18. Kevin S. Says:

    I have sent in two registration requests but still have not received an acceptance for this course. Is this course registration closed, full or am I just not receiving the approval to take this course?

    Since the course starts tomorrow now, does this mean I won’t be able to attend your course? I was really looking forward to taking this online. Please advise.

    Thank you

    • ai864 Says:

      @Robert, Steve, Kevin and others: Apologies for the delay. I’ve got a backlog of about 300 last-minute registrations to sort through, so it is taking longer than usual for me to respond to each email. Rest assured, if you send something in before the course starts, I will make sure you’re on the list. I appreciate your patience.

  19. Kevin G. Says:

    Hi, I sent in a registration on the deadline because I only found out about this ON the deadline… Will this mean I won’t be registered?

    If I’m not registered, will I still be able to read the posts and still gain knowledge?

    What exactly does registration give us?

    Thank you for your time and for doing this.

    • ai864 Says:

      Hi Kevin:

      In the interests of fairness, I made the cutoff at 12 noon GMT. If you sent in your registration before that, you should have received a confirmation. If the timestamp is after that, I will send out an apology in the near future.

      This blog is still open to the public and will remain so, and you can feel free to follow along and even comment throughout the summer. I would certainly invite anyone to do so.

      What registration does is gives you access to the private wiki and discussion forum, for the purposes of collaboration and peer feedback. The purpose of this is for people who want a more in-depth experience.

      • Kevin G. Says:

        Thank you for your reply. I look forward to reading future blog posts and extracting all the knowledge you have to offer. =)

  20. davematney Says:

    I’m following along, too. I’m not part of the forums, but you can check out my progress at http://www.davematney.com/tag/gdcu/

Leave a comment